Amelia Kar’s run out incident raises questions

0
84
Amelia Kar's run out incident raises questions

Dubai. On Friday, during the India-New Zealand match in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 in Dubai, a controversy broke out over Amelia Karr not being run out in the first innings. The Indian team appealed for run out in the 14th over in an attempt to score a run, which was rejected by the umpire. In fact, after Deepti Sharma’s last ball was shot at long off, Sophie Devine and Kar together tried to take the second run and Kar at the striker’s end could not reach the crease. However, before running out for the second run, Deepti had asked for her cap back from the umpire. This meant that the ball was dead as the ball was not considered to be in play after the umpire handed the cap to the bowler and Harmanpreet Kaur threw the ball towards the wicketkeeper only after this incident. During this entire incident the game remained halted for seven minutes. Indian head coach Amol Mazumdar also appeared disappointed at not being given a run out. He was seen discussing with the fourth umpire near the boundary line.

After the run out appeal was rejected and a single was given, Kar should have come back on strike at the beginning of the next over, but in his place, Devine took strike and after the single was taken, Kar came back on strike. However, Kar was caught at extra cover on the next ball. On this appeal of run out, the rule of MCC (MCC0) related to dead ball says that in such a situation, the attitude of the bowler or the wicketkeeper can be a good guide. However, in such a situation also the opinion of the umpire is valid. If the umpire The ball is deemed dead if it appears to have been completed, regardless of whether one or more players believe the ball is still in play.